American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Committee on Perioperative Care

The Committee on Perioperative Care (CPC) was established in 2002 as a standing committee of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). It was formed when the Committee on Operating Room Environment (CORE) and the Pre- and Post-Operative Care Committee (PPOC) were integrated to provide a continuum across all processes related to surgical care.  Over the years the CPC has incorporated liaison member organizations involved with the care of the surgical patient. Organizations who nominate a liaison member to the CPC include the American Academy of Anesthesiologists Assistants (AAAA), American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA), American Association of Surgical Physician Assistants (AASPA), American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA), American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses (ASPAN), Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN), Association of Surgical Technologists (AST), and the Council on Surgical and Perioperative Safety (CSPS).

The CPC functions under the authority of the Board of Regents and serves as the primary resource to the College, profession, community, and government on topics concerning perioperative care. The mission of the committee is to develop and present information and recommendations related to education, technology, standards of care, clinical and facilities management, and assessment of outcomes.

The CPC assumes a leading role in the development of programs related to perioperative care and the operating room environment, encourages and provides expertise for the development of measurement tools to define and disseminate the best practices of perioperative care, and monitors state and federal activities as well as industry developments affecting the care of the surgical patient.

I.S. Ravdin Lecture

Committee on Perioperative Care Roster

ACS Staff

Clifford Y. Ko, MD, MS, MSHS, FACS, FASCRS
Sameera Ali, MPH
Jorge Hernandez

The Committee on Perioperative Care welcomes your comments. Please write to the committee's staff liaison, Jorge Hernandez, at

Interested in joining a committee? E-mail