American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Distinguished Service Award (Established 1957)

The Recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Service Award will be Hilary A. Sanfey, MB BCh, MHPE, FACS, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FRCSI(Hon) of Springfield, Illinois. She will receive the Award during annual Clinical Congress in Chicago, Illinois at the Convocation ceremony. Dr. Sanfey’s nomination was submitted in January 2019 from Dr. Susan Pories as Chair, Dr. Nancy Baxter as Vice Chair, and Dr. Marie Crandall as Awards Subcommittee Chair on behalf of the College’s Women in Surgery Committee (WiSC). This Award is in recognition of Dr. Sanfey’s many endeavors on behalf of the College, which were associated with her time as the ACS Liaison to the American Medical Association Women Physicians Congress; as a member of the Scholarship Committee and the Committee on Medical School Education; as a Specialty Governor; and as WiSC Chair and an active member and ex officio. During her tenure as WiSC Chair, she led the Committee in raising $100,000 to fully endow the Olga M. Jonasson, MD, FACS Named Lecture held annually during the Clinical Congress and developed a successful Early Career Faculty Mentorship Program that has become a model for similar programs. As a prior member of the Board of Governors, Dr. Sanfey chaired the Nominating Committee of the Board of Governors from 2010-2012 and has contributed to the College’s philanthropic efforts as a member of the Foundation’s Annual Giving and Communications Committee. She also has served as ACS First Vice President from 2016-2017, which included representation and outreach to ACS Chapters both domestically and abroad. She currently serves as faculty for the ACS Residents as Teachers and Leaders Program and Co-Chairs, along with ACS Division of Education Director, Dr. Ajit K. Sachdeva, the Steering Committee for ACS Certification in Applied Surgical Education Leadership (CASEL) program. In October 2018, she was admitted as a founding member of the ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators.

The Distinguished Service Award was established by the Board of Regents in 1957. It is the highest honor and award bestowed by the American College of Surgeons. In 1966, the criterion for the Award was enhanced to ensure that the Recipient be a distinguished contributor to the College. In 1971, the criterion was amended to include that the Recipient should also have a record of outstanding service and be an active supporter of the American College of Surgeons. Consideration is given to board, committee, council, and other voluntary service to the College. While recognizing that an individual’s entire surgical career is relevant, this Award is intended to honor service to the College. Although not restricted, the Honors Committee has attempted to select individuals that have not held office in order to acknowledge Fellows that have served with distinction, but with less recognition. Further, the Honors Committee does not consider nominees who are currently serving as Officers or Regents of the College or have held the office of President of the College. There is no lecture associated with the Award and, starting in 2010, the Award has been presented during the Convocation ceremony on the Sunday evening prior to the official start of the annual Clinical Congress. Prior to 2010, the Award was presented at the Annual Business Meeting of Members.

Review the list of past Distinguished Service Awardees.