American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Jacobson Innovation Award Recipients


James L. Cox, MD, FACS, Chicago, IL
Honored in recognition of his pioneering work and innovative research in cardiothoracic surgery


Henry Buchwald, MD, PhD, FACS, Minneapolis, MN
Honored in recognition of his pioneering work and innovative research in metabolic and bariatric surgery


Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, Bethesda, MD
Pioneer in the development of effective immunotherapies and gene therapies for patients with advanced cancers


Timothy A.M. Chuter, BM BS, DM, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Honored in recognition of his innovative role in the development of endovascular aneurysm repair


Louis C. Argenta, MD, FACS, Winston-Salem, NC
Developed Vacuum-Assisted Closure, a paradigm-changing approach to the treatment of difficult wounds and burns, with Wake Forest bioengineer Michael Morykwas, PhD


Joseph P. Vacanti, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Pioneer in the development of microsurgery and the field of tissue engineering


Robin T. Cotton, MD, FACS, FRCS(C), Cincinnatti, OH
Pioneered techniques used worldwide in the reconstruction of the larynx and trachea in children


Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC, St. Louis, MO
Leader in the innovative use of nerve transfer procedures for treatment of patients with devastating peripheral nerve injuries


W. Hardy Hendren III, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Developed novel reconstruction procedures for children with severe urogenital abnormalities


George Berci, MD, FACS, Los Angeles, CA
Made pioneering contributions to the art and science of endoscopy and laparoscopy, resulting in the high level of technology used to perform many endoscopic and laparoscopic surgical procedures


Lazar J. Greenfield, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Developed the Greenfield vena cava filter, an implantable device that changed the technology associated with the pulmonary embolic complications of deep venous thrombosis


Bernard Fisher, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Set a new course for the treatment of breast cancer by proposing that it is a systemic disease that metastasizes unpredictably and would best be treated with lumpectomy combined with adjuvant chemotherapy


Donald L. Morton, MD, FACS, Santa Monica, CA
Pioneered research efforts toward the development and clinical application of sentinel lymph node biopsy


William S. Pierce, MD, FACS, Hershey, PA
Pioneer in the conception and development of mechanical circulatory support and the total artificial mechanical heart


Judah Folkman, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Pioneer in the field of angiogenesis


Stanley J. Dudrick, MD, FACS, Waterbury , CT
Innovator of specialized nutrition support and a pioneer in the field of clinical nutrition


Harry J. Buncke, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Pioneer in the field of microsurgery and replantation


Robert H. Bartlett, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Pioneer in the development and establishment of the first extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) program


Michael R. Harrison, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Creator of the specialty of fetal surgery and developing techniques of fetoscopy for minimally invasive fetal technology


Thomas J. Fogarty, MD, FACS, Portola Valley, CA
Design and development of industry standard minimally invasive surgical instrumentation, especially for cardiovascular surgery


Paul L. Tessier, MD, FACS (Hon), Boulogne, France
Development of a new surgical specialty (craniofacial surgery)


John F. Burke, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Development and implementation of a number of innovative techniques in burn care, including the co-development of an artificial skin (Integra™)


Juan Carlos Parodi, MD, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Treatment of arterial aneurysms, occlusive disease, and vascular injuries by using endovascular stent grafts


Joel D. Cooper, MD, FACS, St. Louis, MO
Lung transplantation and lung volume reduction surgery


Thomas Starzl, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Liver transplantation


Professor Francois Dubois, Paris, France
Laparoscopic cholecystectomy