American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Lifetime Achievement Award (Established 2010)

The first Lifetime Achievement Award was designed for and presented to C. Rollins Hanlon, MD, FACS, a Past ACS President and former ACS Executive Director, at the 2010 Clinical Congress. At its February 2012 meeting, the Board of Regents approved the permanent criteria for this Award, and the Honors Committee selected George F. Sheldon, MD, FACS, to receive the second Award of its kind at the 2012 Convocation ceremony. The ACS Executive Director from 2000-2009, Thomas R. Russell, MD, FACS, was recognized posthumously with the third Lifetime Achievement Award during the 2014 Convocation ceremony. The fourth Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Patricia J. Numann, MD, FACS of Syracuse, New York during the 2019 Convocation ceremony.

This Award has a highly selective set of criteria and has been traditionally presented during the Convocation Ceremony.

Award Criteria

  • The Award should be given to honor extraordinary contributions as well as continuous and prolonged service to the American College of Surgeons spanning several decades;
  • The nature of this service may include, but is not limited to, volunteer, elected, or staff level contributions and can range from committee service, philanthropic work, leadership positions, and direct influence or development of a College program or ongoing activity;
  • The Award should only be given when the Honors Committee has identified a qualified individual and should not have to be presented on an annual basis;
  • The Award is not intended to honor innovations in surgery, stellar contributions to surgical research, or international surgical contributions. Other honors and awards managed by the Honors Committee recognize these offerings; and
  • Solicitation of nominees for this Award will be conducted in the usual fashion by seeking recommendations from the Officers, Regents, Staff, and various standing and ad hoc committees of the College.

Currently, there are no candidates under consideration for the Award.