American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Contact ACS Division of Education

Division of Education
633 N Saint Clair Street
Chicago, IL 60611
312-202-5000

Division Director

Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, FSACME, MAMSE
312-202-5405
asachdeva@facs.org

Michelle Padilla
Executive Associate
312-202-5297
mpadilla@facs.org

Associate Director

Patrice Gabler Blair, MPH
312-202-5220
pblair@facs.org

Accreditation, Verification, and Credentialing | ACS-Accreditation Education Institutes (AEI) | Clinical Congress | Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development Programs | Distance Education & E-Learning | Educational Administration and Special Programs | Publications | Resident and Medical Education | Simulation-Based Surgical Education and Training | Surgical Education and Self-Assessment Program (SESAP®) | Surgical Patient Education

Accreditation, Verification, and Credentialing

Staff

Responsibilities

Alisa Nagler, JD, EdD
Assistant Director for Accreditation, Validation, and Credentialing
312-202-5438
anagler@facs.org

Program for Accreditation, Validation, and Credentialing

Ryan Francescatti
Administrator, Validation and Credentialing
312-202-5743
rfrancescatti@facs.org

Program for Validation and Credentialing, MyCME Program

Thomas Jones
Program Administrator, MyCME Program
312-202-5257
tjones@facs.org

Program for Validation and Credentialing, MyCME Program

Elizabeth McAllister
Senior Administrator, Validation and Credentialing
312-202-5122
emcallister@facs.org

Credit to Address Regulatory Mandates; Specialty Board Liaison; Program for Validation and Credentialing; MyCME

Susan Newman, MPH
Manager, Academy and Certification Program
312-202-5771
snewman@facs.org

ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators and ACS Certificate in Applied Surgical Education Leadership (CASEL)

Stephen Simalchik
Administrator, Academy and Certificate Programs
312-202-5435
ssimalchik@facs.org
 ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators and ACS Certificate in Applied Surgical Education Leadership (CASEL)

ACS-Accreditation Education Institutes (AEI)

Staff

Responsibilities

Kathleen A. Johnson, EdM
Assistant Director, ACS Program for Accreditation of Education Institutes
312-202-5276
kjohnson@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Amy Johnson
Administrator
312-202-5415
ajohnson@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Catherine Sormalis
Senior Manager, ACS Program for Accreditation of Education Institutes
312-202-5535
csormalis@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Clinical Congress

Staff

Responsibilities

Richard V. King, PhD
Assistant Director, Clinical Congress and Surgical Skills Courses
312-202-5433
rking@facs.org

Clinical Congress, Scientific Program and Surgical Skills Courses

M. Jane Burns, MJHL
Senior Manager, Clinical Congress Program
312-202-5742
mjburns@facs.org

Clinical Congress, Owen H. Wangensteen Scientific Forum and Poster Presentations, Scientific Panel Sessions, Postgraduate Didactic Courses, Scientific Poster Presentations, Video-Based Education Program, ACS Video Library

Scott Miller, MEd
Senior Manager, Skills & Experiential Learning Courses
312-202-5266
smiller@facs.org

Clinical Congress Skills Courses, Exported Ultrasound Courses, National Ultrasound Faculty, Surgical Skills Courses, Verification of Knowledge and Skills Program

Kenya Posley
Administrator, Surgical Skills and Clinical Congress Courses
312 202-5325
kposley@facs.org

Clinical Congress Surgical Skills Courses, Panel Sessions

Christopher Ratliff
Administrator, Video Based Education and Clinical Congress
312-202-5773
cratliff@facs.org 

 

Video Based Education Programs, ACS Video Library, Video Based Committee, Meet the Experts and Town Halls Sessions

Britnee R. Sanders
Administrator, Scientific Forum and Clinical Congress
312-202-5773
britnee.sanders@facs.org

Owen H. Wangensteen Scientific Forum and e-Poster Presentations, Owen H. Wangensteen Scientific Forum Committee

Nouanesavy Saysy
Administrator, Didactic/Experiential and Clinical Congress Courses
312-202-5170
nsaysy@facs.org

Clinical Congress Didactic/Experiential Courses, Panel Sessions

Jana M. Stringfellow-Estell
Senior Administrator, Program Committee and Clinical Congress Scientific Sessions
312-202-5385
jstringfellowestell@facs.org

Clinical Congress Program Committee, Named Lectures

Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development Programs

Staff

Responsibilities

Sue Lawler, PhD, CPA, MBA
Assistant Director, Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development Programs
slawler@facs.org
(312) 202-5223

Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development Programs

Julie Sodeman
Administrator, Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development
312-202-5980
jsodeman@facs.org

Comprehensive and Innovative Faculty Development Programs

Distance Education & E-Learning

Staff

Responsibilities

Olivier Petinaux, MS
Assistant DIrector, Distance Education and E-Learning
312-202-5375
opetinaux@facs.org

Webcasts and audio packages of Clinical Congress, distance education, and e-learning programs

Sangkhom Ratsavong
Administrator, Distance Education and E-Learning
312-202-5318
sratsavong@facs.org

Webcasts and audio packages of Clinical Congress, distance education, e-learning programs

Educational Administration and Special Programs

Staff

Responsibilities

Linda K. Lupi, MBA
Assistant Director, Educational Administration and Educational Scholarship
312-202-5354
llupi@facs.org

Steering Committee for Retraining and Retooling of Practicing Surgeons, Annual ACS Summit on Surgery Training, Future of General Surgery Training Collaborative, Mastery in General Surgery Program, Committee on Education

Deirdre McGrory, JD
Manager, Educational Administration
312-202-5491
dmcgrory@facs.org

Core Administration

Olivia Moukayed
Administrator, Continuing Education Programs 
312-202-5125
omoukayed@facs.org  
Comprehensive General Surgery Review Course, General Surgery Review Course, Core General Surgery Review for Residents, Surgeons as Educators Course and Surgeons as Leaders Course 

Rachel Williams Newman, MS
Senior Manager, Mastery, Retooling, and Educational Advancement
312-202-5653
rnewman@facs.org

Mastery in General Surgery Program, Annual ACS Summit on Surgical Training, Future of General Surgery Training Collaborative, Steering Committee for Retraining and Retooling of Practicing Surgeons

Janeen Sutherland, RN
Manager, Preceptorship, Coaching and Retooling
312-202-5779
jsutherland@facs.org

Continuous development, implementation and evaluation of pilot programs and courses; Preceptorships, Coaching, and Retooling

Melanie T. Thorsen, MBAHC, CRA, CCMEP
Senior Manager, Continuing Education Programs and Lifelong Learning
312-202-5056
mthorsen@facs.org

Comprehensive General Surgery Review Course, General Surgery Review Course, Surgeons as Educators Course, Surgeons as Leaders Course, Maintenance of Certification Review: Essentials for Surgical Specialties, Surgical Education: Principles and Practice (SEPAP), Non-Technical Skills for Surgeons (NOTSS), Assessment of Preparation for Intern Readiness in Surgery (ASPIRES), Committee on Emerging Surgical Technology & Education (CESTE)

Kevin Wasielewski, MPH, MBA
Administrator, ACS-ERRA and Operative Decision-Making
312-202-5746
kwasielewski@facs.org

ACS Entering Resident Readiness Assessment (ACS-ERRA) and Operative Decision-Making

Publications

Staff

Responsibilities

Lewis Flint, MD, FACS
Editor-in Chief, Selected Readings in General Surgery
Associate Editor, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5224

Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery, Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery

Sapna Dalal
Manager, Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery
312-202-5568
sdalal@facs.org

Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery

Whitney Greer
Senior Managing Editor, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5698
wgreer@facs.org

Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery

Brandon Locke

Publication Administrator, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5227

blocke@facs.org
Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery

Resident and Medical Education

Staff

Responsibilities

Kim Echert
Senior Manager, Programs to Enhance Resident and Medical Student Education
312-202-5488
kechert@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum, ACS Surgery Resident Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) DVD, Residents as Teachers and Leaders Course, ACS/APDS Surgery Resident Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum, Surgery Resident Program, Medical Student Program, High School Program, Resident Award for Exemplary Teaching, Jameson L. Chassin Award for Professionalism in General Surgery

Tim Hotze
E-Learning Software Developer
312-202-5032
thotze@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum, ACS/APDS Surgery Resident Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum

Krashina S. Hudson
Senior Administrator, Resident and Medical Student Curricula
312-202-5335
khudson@facs.org

ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based, Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/APDS Surgical Skills Curriculum, Resources in Surgical Education

Stephanie Hermes
Senior Administrator, Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum
312-202-5171
shermes@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum

Brad DeFabo Akin
Administrator, Educational Programs
312-202-5404
bakin@facs.org

Medical Student Program, High School Program

Simulation-Based Surgical Education and Training

Staff

Responsibilities

Gyusung Isaiah Lee, PhD
Assistant Director, Simulation-Based Surgical Education and Training
312-202-5782
glee@facs.org

Simulation-Based Surgical Education and Training Programs

Hurschell Mathews, Jr.
Manager, Continuous Professional Development Education and Outcomes
312-202-5732
hmathews@facs.org 
Simulation-Based Surgical Education and Training Programs

 

Surgical Education and Self-Assessment Program (SESAP®)

Staff

Responsibilities

Chrysa Cullather, MS
SESAP and Review Courses Medical Editor
312-202-5175
ccullather@facs.org

SESAP, review courses

Julia Dudek, MPH
Senior Manager, SESAP
312-202-5239
jdudek@facs.org

SESAP

Katherine Greenock, MS
Administrator, SESAP
312-202-5419
kgreenock@facs.org, sesap@facs.org

SESAP

Surgical Patient Education

Staff

Responsibilities

Kathleen Heneghan, PhD, MSN, RN, FAACE
Assistant Director, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5352
kheneghan@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education

Tarra Guptaa Barot, PhD
Manager, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5791
tbarot@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education

Amanda J. Bruggeman
Senior Administrator, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5263
abruggeman@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education

Nancy Strand, MPH, RN
Senior Manager, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5566
nstrand@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education