American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Honorary Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons is Awarded to Six Prominent Surgeons


CHICAGO (October 5, 12:01 am CT): Last night Honorary Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons (ACS) was awarded to six prominent surgeons from Ghana, Australia, India, France, Argentina, and Barbados. The Honorary Fellowships were presented at the Convocation, a highlight of the 2015 Clinical Congress, which is one of the largest international meetings of surgeons in the world. This year’s recipients are as follows:

  • Prof. Emmanuel Quaye Archampong, MB, BS, FRCSEd, FRCSEng, FICS, FWACS, FGCPS
    Accra, Ghana
  • Prof. William Barry Coman, MB, BS, FRCSEd, FRCSEng, FRACS, FACS, MD, FRCSEng(Hon)
    Brisbane, Australia
  • Prof. Mahesh Desai, MB, BS, MS, FRCSEd, FRCSEng
    Nadiad, India
  • Prof. Abraham Fingerhut, MD, FACS, FRCSP(g), FRCSEd
    Poissey, France
  • Prof. Eduardo de Santibañes, MD, PhD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon)
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Prof. Errol Ricardo Walrond, BSc(Hon), LRCP, MRCS, MB, BS, FRCSEng, FACS, FCCS
    Saint James, Barbados

Presenting the Honorary Fellowships last night on behalf of the College were:  Samuel Adetola Adebonojo, MD, FACS, Beavercreek, Ohio; David J. Terris, MD, FACS, Augusta, Georgia; Glenn M. Preminger, MD, Durham, North Carolina; Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS, Weston, Fla; Steven M. Strasberg, MD, FACS, St. Louis, Missouri; and Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, MPH, FACS, Hartford, Conn.

Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons is awarded during the annual Convocation to surgeons whose education and training, professional qualifications, surgical competence, and ethical conduct have passed a rigorous evaluation and have been found to be consistent with the high standards established and demanded by the College. During this year’s ceremony, 1,640 surgeons from around the world were admitted into Fellowship. With a membership of more than 80,000, ACS is the largest organization of surgeons in the world.

Sir Rickman Godlee, President of the Royal College of Surgeons of England, was awarded the first Honorary Fellowship in the ACS during the College’s first Convocation in 1913. Since then, 453 internationally prominent surgeons, including the six chosen this year, have been named Honorary Fellows of the American College of Surgeons.

# # #

Editor’s Note:  A citation and photo for each Honorary Fellow is available from the ACS Office of Public Information. Email:

About the American College of Surgeons
The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and improve the quality of care for all surgical patients. The College is dedicated to the ethical and competent practice of surgery. Its achievements have significantly influenced the course of scientific surgery in America and have established it as an important advocate for all surgical patients. The College has more than 80,000 members and is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. For more information, visit


Sally Garneski 
Devin Rose