American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

George H. A. Clowes, Jr., MD, FACS, Memorial Research Career Development Award

Clowes Memorial Research Career Development Award

This award is offered through the generosity of The Clowes Fund, Inc., of Indianapolis, IN. Its purpose is to provide support for the research of a promising young surgical investigator. The award consists of a stipend of $45,000 for each of five years and is not renewable thereafter.

Award Requirements

  • The award is restricted to a Fellow or Associate Fellow of the College who has completed an accredited residency in general surgery, vascular integrated surgery, cardiothoracic integrated surgery, or plastic surgery. All within the preceding seven years, not including time off for maternity leave, military deployment, or medical leave, and has received a full-time faculty appointment at a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education in the United States or by the Committee for Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools in Canada. The applicant’s academic appointment may not be above the level of assistant professor. Applicants should provide evidence (by publication or otherwise) of initial productive efforts in laboratory research.
  • The American College of Surgeons Scholarships Committee will not consider applicants who have already received research career development type awards over $25,000 from professional societies, or the ACS Faculty Research Fellowship, not including intramural K awards. The Committee will give preference to applicants who have received or are working toward a K08 or K23 NIH grant. It is the responsibility of the recipient to notify the College’s Scholarships Administrator to request approval if another source of scholarship of fellowship funding is received.

How to Apply

  • Approval of the application is required from the administration (dean or fiscal officer) and the head of the applicant’s department or administrative unit. This approval includes a commitment to continuation of the academic position and facilities for research during the entire period of the award. In addition, it must be assured that at least 50 percent of the applicant’s time will be spent in the research proposed in the application. This percentage may run concurrently with the time requirements of NIH or other accepted funding.
  • In addition to the application form, the applicant must submit an NIH-style biosketch, a detailed research plan up to five pages in length, and propose a budget for the five-year period of the award. The applicant also is required to submit a cover letter of no more than 400 words describing the career objectives, how these career objectives will be achieved, and how the research protocol furthers the applicant’s career development. A mentor biosketch and other documents are also required. The Scholarships Committee of the College requires an annual narrative and financial progress report from the recipient on which annual renewal of the award is based.
  • Additional documents and questions are to be directed to the Scholarships Administrator at

Award Obligations

  • While holding the award, the recipient is required to attend the Clinical Congress of the American College of Surgeons every other year including the final year of their funding period and present reports to the Scholarships Committee and its guests.
  • Upon completion of the five-year funding period, the recipient will be required to submit a final narrative report summarizing research progress and providing information regarding current academic rank, sources of research support, and future plans.
Previous Awardees

Tammy Kindel, 2020–2025
Troy A. Markel, 2019–2024
Luke M. Funk, 2018–2023
Tammy T. Chang, 2017–2022
Benjamin Levi, 2016–2021
Ankush Gosain, 2015–2020
Jon D. Simmons, 2014–2019
Carrie A. Sims, 2011–2016
Jason Lee Sperry, 2010–2015
J. Jason Hoth, 2009–2013
Mitchell Jay Cohen, 2008–2013
Alicia M. Mohr, 2007–2012
Mark R. Hemmila, 2006–2011
Yolanda L. Colson, 2006–2011
Sarah P. Thayer, 2005–2010
Herbert Chen, 2004–2009
Bhuvanesh Singh, 2003–2008
Robert A. Montgomery, 2002–2007
Matthias G. Stelzner, 2001–2006
J. Perren Cobb, 2000–2005
David A. Geller, 1999–2004
Paul C. Kuo, 1998–2003
Martin E. Gleave, 1997–2002
Ronald J. Weigel, 1996–2001
Jeffrey B. Matthews, 1995–2000
William G. Cance, 1994–1999
Robert Udelsman, 1993–1998
Timothy R. Billiar, 1992–1997

Apply Online

Application deadline is Monday, August 16, 2021.

Additional documents and questions are to be directed to the Scholarships Administrator: or Scholarships Administrator, American College of Surgeons, 633 N. Saint Clair St., Chicago, IL 60611-3295.