American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Organization of Resident Representatives to the AAMC

The Organization of Resident Representatives (ORR) was established in 1991 to provide a venue for resident physicians to have input into the development of Association policy. The ORR is also designed as a leadership opportunity for residents interested in academic medicine, serving as a vehicle for professional development activities for its members.

To provide resident physician input on policy development and programmatic activities of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), the ORR appoints liaisons to a number of association committees and constituent support groups. The general membership meets twice a year, during the fall annual meeting of the AAMC, and concurrently with the spring meeting of the AAMC's Council of Academic Societies (CAS). The members of the ORR are appointed by CAS member representing either department chairs or program directors. Each eligible society appoints two residents for a two-year term.

Residents are to be selected democratically by their peers when possible, and no two residents appointed by the same society may come from the same residency training program. Further, ORR membership requires that the resident be actively enrolled in a residency or fellowship program at the time of appointment.

SSC Representatives

Vanessa Nomellini, MD

University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
Term: July 2012 to June 2014

Laura White, MD

Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX
Term: July 2013 to June 2015

Michele Lynn Babicky, MD

University of California, San Diego
Term: July 2014 to June 2016

Benjamin Keller, MD

University of California, Davis
Term: July 2015 to June 2017

Puneet Singh, MD

University of Chicago Medicine
Term: July 2016 to June 2018

Jeffrey D. Howard Jr., MD

University of Louisville School of Medicine, Louisville, KY
Term: July 2017 to June 2019

Yusuke Terasaki, MD

Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD
Term: July 2017 to June 2019

Joanelle Bailey, MD

Rutgers New Jersey Medical Center, Newark, NJ
Term: July 2018 to June 2020

Jenaya L. Goldwag, MD

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medicine, Lebanon, NH
Term: July 2019 to June 2021

Richard S. Whitlock, MD

Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
Term: July 2019 to June 2021

Rachel B. Atkinson, MD

Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA
Term: July 2020 to June 2022

Scarlett B. Hao, MD

East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine, Greenville, NC
Term: July 2020 to June 2022