American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Editorial Board


J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS, MCCM
Richard T. Myers Professor and Chairman, department of surgery; chair of surgery, Wake Forest School of Medicine; and medical director, The Children's Institute for Pediatric Trauma, Winston-Salem, NC

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS
Clinical professor of surgery and director of medical education, Kansas University School of Medicine, Salina, KS

Board of Regents

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS
Paul B. Magnuson Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery; chair, department of orthopaedics; and professor of surgery, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; plastic and reconstructive surgery, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, PA

Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCS (Eng), FRCS (ED), FRCSI (Hon), Hon FRCS (Glasg)
Director, Digestive Disease Institute, Cleveland Clinic Florida, Weston, FL
Video Journalist/Host of Surgeon Voices
Twitter: @SWexner

Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS
Professor of surgery and vice-chair, department of surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN

Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS
Henry & Sally Schaffer Chair & Professor, department of surgery, Albany Medical Center, Albany, NY

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS
Private practice, Wichita Falls, TX

Board of Governors

Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS
Professor, chair of surgery, and associate vice-president, University of Iowa Health Alliance; and professor of surgical oncology and endocrine surgery, biochemistry, anatomy and cell biology, and molecular physiology and biophysics; University of Iowa, Iowa City

Advisory Council for General Surgery

John H. Stewart, IV, MD, MBA
Presidential Scholar and professor of surgery, University of Illinois (UIC) College of Medicine, Chicago; physician executive, oncology services; and associate director for clinical research, UIC Cancer Center, Chicago

Members at Large

James K. Elsey, MD, FACS
Private practice; visiting professor of surgery, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA

Frederick L. Greene, MD, FACS
Surgical oncologist, Charlotte, NC

Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, MPH, FACS
Professor of surgery and chairman, department of traumatology and emergency medicine, University of Connecticut; and director, trauma program, Hartford Hospital, Hartford, CT

Marshall Z. Schwartz, MD, FACS
Professor, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, Winston-Salem, NC

Young Fellows Association

Joshua Mammen, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery and Molecular & Integrative Physiology; Vice Chair of Surgery; Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency; Division Chief, Oncologic Surgery Division, University of Kansas Medical Center

Resident and Associate Society

Raphael Sun, MD
Surgical resident PGY7, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

ACS Staff

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS
Executive Director

Patrick V. Bailey, MD, FACS
Medical Director, Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Lewis M. Flint, MD, FACS
Editor-in-Chief, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Division of Education

Clifford Y. Ko, MD, MS, MSHS, FACS
Director, Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care

Frank R. Opelka, MD, FACS
Medical Director, Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Patricia L. Turner, MD, MBA, FACS
Director, Division of Member Services